Hover Control of Quadcopter (Gaui 330x)

Hello guys,

I have a Gaui 330x, and I am required to implement on it a hover control algorithm. I am quite new to quadrotors, but i'm willing to try. My objective is to make it hover at a constant height from ground when the hover control switch is turned on, and still be able to move it along the x-y plane (back/forth/left/right). When the hover control switch is off, control is manual using the radio controller. 

What I have done so far is, I placed a microcontroller between the receiver module and the gyroscope. By doing so, I wish to manipulate the signal that is being communicated between the receiver and the gyro. I notice that the speed of the propellers changes with the pulse width of this signal. On manual control, the signal goes in and out of the microcontroller unchanged. On hover control mode, the signal gets manipulated before it is communicated to the gyroscope. Manipulation is simply changing the pulse  width of the PWM, to either increase the speed (when below desired height) or decrease the speed (when above desired height) of the propellers. 

In addition to this, I have a set of Parallax Ultrasonic Sensors to measure the height. The sensors are interfaced with the microcontroller. 

More technical details:

The range of the signal pulse width is 1.2 - 1.92 ms. 

The period of the signal is 14.32 ms. (Frequency : roughly 70.4 Hz)

Progress so far:

• I have mounted everything onto the quadrotor (the microcontroller and sensors) with proper connections. 
  • I managed to get the microcontroller to imitate the signal that is being communicated between the receiver and gyro ( this is for manual control), but the frequency is slightly different than that of the original (Is this going to give me problems?). Oh, and the voltage level for 'high' is also different (7V, compared to the original at 3.23V, will it matter?)

Problems: