As a current using of PBASIC and about 14 approx other languages as I am a software developer by profession. How difficult is it to pick up the SPIN language? Is it more object oriented based?

Views: 2323

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

well its actualy two languages , spin & assembly. spin is object oriented and i find it easy , but the assembly language runs much much faster and has way more "power" but requires a good understanding of the mechanics of processers. assembly is of course directly translateable into binary.
Does the propeller, with its COGS, allow parallel processing?
absolutly !! thats what makes it soooooo sweet you basically have 8 x 80mhz 32 bit processers that have some shared ram and other resorses and Kbytes of variable space . you should read up on it at parallax you can down load the compiler program and mess with it before you buy. they also have an extensive forum on stamp and prop ICs. i personally love it and have had some success at it . .I am very excited about the Kalmn filter object that just came out should be getting an imu next week.i am going to start a blog on a ap using the prop and i will post some code
James,
so far from what I can tell spin looks inline with a little bit of C, and python. I'm still going through it though, but that's what it looks like to me. It's wierd, but it shouldn't be too hard to pick up.
Well..I printed out the Propeller Manual and read through it and it sounds like I will have to fork out some bucks for a propeller chip and board. Its a nice processor. Does anyone have an suggestions as to which chip and board would get me into this chip for the lowest cost?
The proto board would be the one I would get. As long as you're not afraid of a little soldering, it should be fine.
Is this the board your were referring...seems to me like a great value!

Propeller RPM Board
Actually this one, it's cheaper, and has the same chip in a 40(44?) pin assignment.

Proto Board