Hello,I am a Mechanical Engineering Technology student @ the University of Cincinnati in Ohio USA.I am starting to work on a very complex hybrid aircraft modeled after the Pelican drop-Ship found in the Halo series video game. For those of you that are not familiar with what this aircraft looks like I have attached two in game screen captures. As seen in the images; each rotating engine nacelle houses a VTOL thruster and a forward flight thruster, making the control scheme very complex. In essence it will be a Quad with rotating nacelles and "twin engine" airplane, all in one.I am looking for lots of help in developing / modifying a system for controlling such an aircraft. If any can help / is interested in helping, I'd greatly appreciate it.ThanksMax Oltersdorf

halo3_121626280_Full.jpg

halo3_121626308_Full.jpg

You need to be a member of diydrones to add comments!

Join diydrones

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Please pretend for a moment that you are actually interested in purchasing a RC Pelican

Customer Survey

Remote Controlled Vertical Take Off and Landing Aircraft

The project is to develop a scaled prototype remote controlled VTOL hybrid aircraft modeled after the Halo Pelican drop-ship.  By answering the questions below you will help determine the relative importance of each feature.  Please take a few minutes and answer. 

How important is each of the following:

1= low importance     5= high importance   Please circle your answers.

1)      Similarity of appearance to Halo Pelican Drop-Ship (not exact)

1          2          3          4          5          N/A

2)      VTOL ( vertical take-off and landing)

3)      Flight stability

4)      Low cost

5)      Safety and Indoor safe flight

6)      Legal to fly in the USA

7)      Simplicity of preflight setup

8)      Fitting into a trunk of midsize car, fully assembled

9)      A known scale ratio (size only)

10)  Easy for one person to fly

11)  Inexpensive  replacement parts