MediaTek 3329 weird baud rate

Hi, 

I just bought a GPS module and it was working correctly at 38400 bps. After some power cycles I wasn't able to get more NMEA sentences from and instead I was getting some garbage. 

I hooked a scope and realize the bit time which corresponds to 24400 bps. I switched baurate on mu PC to 24400 bps and I can get NMEA sentences however I can't change baudrate any longer. Even powering it off keeps the 24400 baud rate.

Tried to flash the firmware but flash tool does not recognize the module (I assume because of the wrong speed)

Any ideas?

Thanks

Jose

I found another user with the same problem: http://forum.trenz-electronic.de/index.php?topic=93.new;topicseen#new 

You need to be a member of diydrones to add comments!

Join diydrones

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Hi,

I am a professional engineer and I've just designed a PCB with an MT3329 on it.  I have the same problem as you guys and I've been working on the issue today and thought I'd share my findings with you.

What appears to be happening is the LED output is an input on power on.  If you pull it low, the MT3329 works normally.  If you pull it high then it goes into a strange mode where the data comes out at 24k baud and the LED flashes slower than normal.  I suspect this is designed behaviour and it is some special customer or test mode.

In the MT3329 datasheet it shows an example circuit with the LED connected to GND through a resistor.  If you do this the module works properly because the LED pulls down the LED pin.  However, in this configuration, the LED is off when the GPS has a fix.  If you want the LED to be on for a fix, then you have to connect the LED to Vcc through a resistor.  This is what I have done on my board and is also what is done on the DIY drones 'adaptor board' product.