Quadcopter from scratch, wiring and components

EDIT:

I managed to build a quadcopter with the parts described in the post, with this 10DOF sensor instead and without a logic level converter. It works fine and now has an ultrasonic sensor and Bluetooth communication with my android as well.

If you consider using a Bluetooth module running on 3.3V logic, remember to lower the voltage from 5V to 3.3V with some resistors.

Hi guys!
I'm totally new to RC and Quadcopter stuff but i would like to try and build my own Quadcopter. I know some basic electronics but I'm not familiar with all the RC and electronic terms.
Now i would like to ask you pros if my setup would work and if the wiring is good. This is the components:
1 Arduino Uno Rev 3. $30
1 Nine axis degree of freedom IMU sensor ITG3200/ITG3205 ADXL345 HMC5883L Module. $35
1 Logic Level Converter. $2 Do i need this?
4 AX 1806N 2100kv Brushless Micro Motor (19g) $37
4 Hobbyking SS Series 8-10A ESC $26
1 ZIPPY Flightmax 2200mAh 3S1P 25C $9
+ Props, what size would be good, I would like something small like 5x3 or maybe even smaller, is this possible?
Total $140

Would these components work well together and is the following wiring correct/optimal?
I'm specially interested if the Logic Level converter is nessesary. The description of the IMU says "fully compatible with 3v-5V systems".

The IMU can be found here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330708102771

And the Level Conveter here:

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8745

And lastly what should i do with the red/black small cables from the ESC, is this correct?

And I'm sorry for my bad painting and/or spelling.

3690925495?profile=original

Thanks for helping out a noob!

You need to be a member of diydrones to add comments!

Join diydrones

Email me when people reply –

Replies