Hi all,

I am new to the ArduPlane. Until now I just had experience with the ArduCopter.

I got myself an Easystar 2, installed APM 1 with the current version 2.30 and configured it. That worked fine, even the stabilize mode & movements on the ground also works good. But I am unable to get the ESC initialized, so the motor won't power up.The APM has corretly being initialized and I connected it wirelessly. I can control my servos via my RC.

I have just one ESC which is directly connected to the APM. When I then additionally connect APM via USB then the ESC finishes the initialization procedure.

Do you have any idea what I am doing wrong here? Do I need an additional power source?

Thank you for a small hint,

Oliver

Views: 3115

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Do you mean it won't initialize in Manual and Stabalize or won't initialize in the Auto modes (or both). As a safety measure, the motor will only spin in non-auto modes (Manual and Stabalize) on the ground. In manual mode, the autopilot isn't even controlling the ESC (it's a straight pass-through of your RC signal), so if your motor won't run in that mode, the issue is on your ESC/RC side. 

Hi Chris, 

maybe this problem is Turnigy-Specific. When I power APM via USB and then connect the power to my ESC then the ESC initializes correctly and accepts commands via the RC etc. When I just power the ESC without connecting the APM via USB first then the ESC is just powering the APM but won't accept any commands. 

The initialization sound is divided into 2 parts with the Tunigy ESCs. Three increasing sounds is one sequence, then 3 short & 1 long beep. I just get the first sequence out (which is like I would use a programming card) which won't arm the ESC.

Regards,

Oliver

Yesterday I was out at the flying field. For me this problem sounds a little bit like a bug in the initialization procedure of the ESC.