Hello to the community,

I'm a beginner in this area. To safe money but more important to learn and understand what is happening while being flexible, I decided not to buy a commercial rtf-kit. So after a bit (or more...) of research I came across the DJI Flame Wheel F450 which seems to be a nice and affordable frame. But instead of taking a DJI flight controller I wanted to try the Ardupilot. My problem now is the power distribution and wiring. My setup is:

Frame DJI Flamewheel F450

Motors 4 x DJI Motor 2212/920rpm/V

ESC 4 x 30A / OPTO

Battery 3S 11,1V 5000mAh

Controller Ardupilot Mega 2.5

Receiver The one with Futaba T8J

I read that for the OPTO motor ESCs I don't need several BECs. But for the APM I do. The frame itself got a power distribution (board) built-in, so...

Which BEC do I have to take and

How do I wire all that stuff together?

When do I decide for a 3S or 4S battery?

Are there some graphics which I haven't found yet? Or any beginner tutorials about all this energy distribution topic?

I would be very thankful for any help! Bye, André

You need to be a member of diydrones to add comments!

Join diydrones

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Hey at all!

I'm kind of impressed, that in the end there were so many answers. Thanks for the this! I probably should have marked the sentence bold but I wrote that the frame got a power distribution board built-in.

Watch this ! So I will solder the APM-BEC now parallel to the two contact points not leading to the motors. Last 2 questions for now!

When do more Volts (4S in case of 3S) make sense? Didn't really get this.

Is it advantageous to insert a filter to avoid voltage drops?

Thanks, I will leave a comment on my proceedings. Greets, André

• I have a DJI X550 - hex rather than quad - but the principles are the same.