I have been building and flying RC helicopters for about 10 years although you wouldn't think so given the quality of my flying.  My building ability however is much better.  My fleet at the moment contains Mikado Logo 400 FBL, Logo 500 with flybar and FMA CoPilot II with HardDeck, Hirobo SDX with OS55 nitro, flybar and CoPilot II and an SDX which is flybarless.  My latest project is a Srimok 90N flybarless.

I'm a Futaba man so have a 18MZ and typically use all Futaba gear.

So, what's up next? I've been intrigued by FPV for a few months and started investigating it for my helicopters.  Everywhere I look I find people saying that you need to be a great helicopter pilot to be successful with FPV on helis.  I sure can understand what they are saying.  So I had a though, if I can get something to help me control the heli if I get disorientated - ie. let the sticks go and the thing will just sit where I left it - I might be able to get an FPV heli to work for me.

Now I have FMA CoPilot II but it will level the heli but not stop it drifting and as you know if it drifts it can get away from you real quick so I need something that is positionally aware.  So I started looking for something that might help maintain position.  Now I come to the important bit - I saw a video on YouTube of someone in Canada flying an ArduCopter controlled heli and I'm hooked.

So my Logo 400 has been looking a little lonely of late and I'm keen to first turn it into and ArduCopter controlled machine and then put some FPV gear on it.  Nice project? 

I know for sure I'm going to need some help and so I joined DIYDrones and started my research in earnest.

What I've bought so far...

APM2.5+ (side entry) with 433MHz telemetry set, uBlox GPS and a Deans power module.

In anticipation I've installed the Mission Planner v1.2.33 onto my Window 7 HP Laptop.