Hi as I am new I dont know where to place this question.  There are 2 choice for telemetry (as I know) 900MHz and 2.4 GHz .

What are their difference (usage/setting) pro & con please. I saw they have same price.

Views: 3734

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

If you live in Europe you have to choose the 2.4 GHz version, check the open frequencies in your country. I'm not an expert on the telemetry module but with the same TX power 900 MHz has better range than 2.4 GHz. I know that for the European zone there is this module: XBee-PRO 868 but I don't know too much about it.

This fellow does a great overview of FPV, best camera, frequency and antenna, etc.

http://vimeo.com/user2797372/videos/sort:date

What Marc said. plus 2.4 gets blocked easier by objects in LOS, but that is secondary to another issue. If you use RC on 2.4, adding a noisy local transmitter to your rx on the aircraft will not improve, and is likely to hurt, your RC range and signal quality, even if the rx is SS, less so if it is good FHSS or DSSS, etc, and more so if it is poorly implemented. If you have the option in your region, I'd recommend the 900Mhz over the 2.4, which is really a bit less than 900, I believe.

I have to disagree with you Mike :), my store was the first to stock and release the 2.4 GHz telemetry kits, I had done a lot of testing on the telemetry kits before I released them here in the UK & EU markets, they have no more effect than two or more people using 2.4 GHz radios side by side, they were lab tested, real world tested and with my Futaba 7c I was able to go more than a mile away with a solid lock on the RX/TX. Please see the blogs linked below on the 2.4 and 868 xbees for more information.

http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/uk-eu-2-4-ghz-telemetry-kit

http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/xbee-868-revived